Daystar University names task force to probe into its closure

Daystar University.

Daystar University has appointed an independent task force to look into the crisis that led to its indefinite closure on April 12 following student unrest.

Both Athi River and Nairobi campuses were closed on April 12 following student unrest over poor quality services and disputes between their association and management.

The unrest began at  Nairobi campus   after a group of students met on the seventh floor of the DAC Building to discuss issues that saw learners boycott classes and turn against the management. police stormed in and threw tear gas canisters at students

In three months period, the 12-team task force will advise the Daystar Company board and the university council on strategies for the institution’s progress.

On Thursday, 26 Mr kiiru said the task force will  also ensure all university organs work together.

Mr Kiiru, who listed the team’s seven tasks, said the members will also review and consider the investigations report by the council and make recommendations.

ALSO READ:  Nominee to the Positions of CECMs and County attorney Approved.

“Review and consider the exit report … for the Commission for University Education and make recommendations,” kiilu told the 12-team task force .

They will also find out gaps and weakness in Daystar’s policies and systems and consider their contributions to the crisis.

The task force will also work with the council, senate and board to find long term solutions to Daystar’s problems.

The  Daystar students demands an audit report  published and those found guilty  punished.

The Members of the task   appointent  are Henry Thairu (Chair), Rose Ngara-Muraya (vice chair), Zablon Nthamburi, Reverend Mathews Mwalw’a, Bernice Gachegu, Erastus Mureithi, Lilian Ogola, Ken Obimbo, Kiragu Wachira, Stanley Mukolwe, Caroline Butaki and William Ogara.

Facebook Comments