Cs Henry Rotich and 27 others arrested over Arror and Kimwarer dams scandal


The Director of Public Prosecutions Noordin Haji has ordered the arrest of Treasury Cabinet Secretary Henry Rotich among other top government officials over the multibillion-shilling Arror and Kimwarer dams scandal.

Italian firm CMC Di RAVENNA was awarded the tender of financing the Arror and Kimwarer dams project. However, Kerio Valley Development Authority (KVDA) and the National Treasury went ahead to spend Sh20.5 billion of taxpayers’ money on the ghost projects.

The company was supposed to dig into its own pocket so as to complete the projects. Upon completion, it would therefore set up a power plant, power transmission lines and other related infrastructures. It would later recover its money by selling power to the government for unspecified number of years before handing back the dams to the government.

The Kenya Forest Service (KFS), which owned the tracts of forest-covered land that was acquired for the ghost projects strongly opposed the allegations of complication of the dam.

ALSO READ:  Another snake lands in a fuel tanker along Thika - Garissa road

The National Environmental Management Authority approved the projects.
Addressing the press on Monday, Mr Haji said he had sufficient evidence to charge and prosecute individuals involved in the procurement and financing of the Sh20.5 billion ghost projects.

“In the public interest to prosecute these cases, I have considered that such infractions are crimes against mwananchi individually and collectively and the decision to prosecute is in line with safeguarding the public good,” Mr Haji said on Monday at a press briefing in Nairobi.

The DPP ordered for the arrest and arraignment of the following individuals:


  1. Managing Director – David Kimosop
  2. Head of Supply Chain Management – -William Kipkemboi Maina
  3. Manager Engineering Services – Paul Kipkoech Serem
  4. Tender Committee: Francis Chepkonga Kipkech


  1. CEO – Geoffrey Mwangi Wahungu
  2. David Walunya Ongare
  3. Boniface Mamboleo Lengisho.


Cabinet Secretary – Henry Rotich

2.Principal Secretary – Kamau Thugge

3.Chief Economist and Head of Europe II 4.Division – Kennedy Nyakundi Nyachiro

ALSO READ:  Governor Ngilu Urges Counties to create their revenue.

5.Director Resource Mobilization 6.Department – Jackson Njau Kinyanjui


1. Inspector General – Titus Murithii


1.Managing Director – David Kimosop

2.:Head of Supply Chain Management – William Kipkemboi Maina

3.Manager Engineering Services – Paul Kipkoech Serem.

4.Tender Committee: Francis Chepkonga Kipkech

Facebook Comments Box